I picked up Hayden from school on Friday and he was complaining of being tired - odd but not ER material. So I hugged him, carried him home took his temp - FEVER? YES.. so uh maybe the flu.. administered tylenol, motrin alternating for safety. His fever came down for a little bit on Sat Morning (Fallon's bday - sorry we missed it guys) but spiked back up to 101 around 11:30. Gave tylenol again but with no help his fever went to 104. Now I am getting worried..Why won't it go down? ears don't hurt, eyes don't hurt, throat?..good. Stomach/ well that he says hurts off and on, but could it be a bad flu? Head ache?..Yes but gee he is burning up, who's head wouldn't hurt. So with no answers left..off to the ER we went - to please.. stop the burning!!! By now he is a tired boy, no running around, very mellow! He is making me nervous.
At the ER they give him an adequate dose of a Tylenol/Motrin type substance - Evidently the bottles dosage is under dosed for children so they explained that what I was giving him wouldn't even touch his fever. HEY who knew? I sure didn't! within an hour - I could see my boy come back..a smile here and there and a more talkative Hayden appeared, wondering when we could go home, because he was feeling better.. GEE so was I! I started to breathe better and thought oh this is just fine now - until they Doctor came over requesting chest x-rays, (which I thought was routine) then came back again , with 2 nurses this time, to explain that "NO your son is not going home, he has a mild pneumonia!"
SO blind sided? yes, I had no idea! He coughed a couple times in the morning and during the night but during the day he was 100 percent fine and active as ever! I mean really "Tis the season for coughs and colds!" We were lucky Hayden only had to stay one night and was a true trooper with all the shots and breathing treatments and all that jazz! It was an emotional roller coaster for this mom that has left me really wary of any COUGH that comes out of anyone's mouth. Now if Tyler coughs I almost panic in my head and want to check his temp. I mean he is energetic and running all over but you never know, tommorow it could be the pneumonia!!!
4 comments:
Good pics of the sick boy. Great explanation of your approach. Sounds to me like you were assessing the whole time. Without that magic ball to tell you the future and the present how are Mothers supposed to know what's cooking up inside their kids?
It's enormously distressing to be in charge of something you can't completely control! And their health is certainly not in your control...as much as you try .
It's not as if you were glued to your soap operas with a bowl of Fritos telling him to go outside and play and quit his moping. You were on it.
You're a terrific Mom. And yes, even terrific Moms feel inept. I know I did.
Mom
Feel better, sick boys! Next time you need a nap, Rach, our couch is open. ;)
First time Thomas had pneumonia, I was thinking how lovely and quiet the house was with him sick and sleepy in his bed for three days. He must just have a nasty cold that makes him SLEEP ALL DAY...
(just polishing up my Mother of the Year award here...)
Holy Guacamole Batman! I can't believe its been so long. Congrats on the 2 bambinos. I connected to your site via Martha.
Would love to hear from you sometime. Sarah, Maddy, Poppy, and I live out in Seattle now. You can check out our blog site. www.thesockmonkeys2.blogspot.com. Its a little lean on content since we lost our old blog.
Laters,
Jon Harris
Post a Comment