Thursday, August 6, 2009

Hollywood Attack

Okay so we made a trip to the Pantages theater last week. Jeff surprised me with tickets to go and see Fiddler on the Roof. We saw this play when we were dating and evaluating how much we really liked eachother :) Honestly though we saw fiddler on the roof up at Sundance at the outside theater in the summer. It was in the evening and the play was so fabulous that Jeff and I have talked about it often. So this was a really fun thing that he did to surprise me.

Jeff actually only had to work for half the day - til 3. so we thought it would be nice to go and see some of Hollywood. Crazy unknowing folk that we are. Neither of us has been to Hollywood to see it in all of its glamour... the stars, the theaters, the glitz - it is so known for... NOT AT ALL THE CASE!!! Why didn't someone warn me. We went out to eat close to our home and thought we would drive to Pantages and see all the stars on the sidewalk etc but upon arrival to the area, neither of us really wanted to get out of the car..SCAREY! and we both thought it the best idea to park right across the street from the Pantages theater no matter what the cost of parking would be - no time to be thrifty with your money when you will be walking these streets AT NIGHT.

We probably would have stayed in the car if I, being pregnant and all, didn't have to use a bathroom. We walked up and down a block or too holding hands and trying to be brave until we finally found a ..Library. I deemed this to be a safe place for a bathroom. I was wrong - that was the scariest bathroom I have ever been in, and I have never done my business so fast just to get out of a place and back to my husband who further confirmed my fears by exclaiming that his bathroom was a horror to see.

We immediately left the library and proceeded to the Pantages theater, where we stood outside of it one and half hours early and just talked. Glad to be in a line of other play people and near to the doors. Moral of the story Hollywood is not a place to sight see!!! Now I know why I have lived here for 30 years and never made the trip for the purpose of seeing anything but a play/opera within an enclosed building. :)

By the way our play was spectacular - just amazing. The guy who played Tevye, the main character, had played this role over 2500 times. He was amazing and made the play so funny! Glad we got to see the play and the pantages theater is so beautiful inside. Why does a building so beautiful inside with such great works of Art on its stage have to be in a setting so ugly and scarey?

2 comments:

HOWEITGOES said...

Wow! I love the Pantages! Lucky you! Your husband is so awesome!

The theater was completely redone, all the gold leaf and the carpets and drapes, etc maybe 10 years ago, or less. So you saw it in all its glory!

What a contrast to the city itself! Sad that the area has deteriorated so completely. The cities of LA and Hollywood are weird, they have these little gems in them...like islands. I know why a car is essential...so you can get from point A to point B without having to walk through the ghetto!

The last time I was at the Pantages was with Martha, probably around 1999---when we went to see the Lion King! Another amazing production, you should not miss! I would rate it as the most amazing and creative show I have ever seen! And that's saying alot.

Anyhow...this is too long. Let me just say good for you guys for getting out --- getting out of the house, out of the car, and out to a show. Now you have 2 great stories to tell.

Emily K said...

remember how the last time you blogged was 2 YEARS ago